The Armidale Symphony Orchestra is a community orchestra that began as the Armidale Municipal 
Orchestra established in 1943. It presently gives approximately three concerts each year.

Another orchestral group in Armidale is Con Brio  which is a string orchestra for adult players of violin, viola, cello and double bass. It has a playing level of approximately 2nd-8th grade and rehearses on 
Tuesday nights. For more information please contact Joanna Fairs-Wu on 0418 340 728.


President: Robert Jackson
Phone 0499 505 726

Vice-President: James McKay

Treasurer: David Rowe

Librarian: James McKay

Publicity Officer: Kees Grenyer

Postal Address

P.O. Box 1055
NSW 2350

Orchestra Members

The following is a file of people who have played in the Armidale Symphony Orchestra. It includes the dates of when people first played with the orchestra where known. Orchestra members

Presidents Reports

The annual Presidents Reports contain many details of the orchestra's past activities. Click on the following to download a file.

1997  2002   2003   2006   2007   2008   2009  2010  2011   2012   2013   2014   2015   2016
2017  2018   2019   2020

Kerry Hawkins Award

Kerry Hawkins was a committed member of the Armidale Symphony Orchestra for 35 years until her untimely death in 2012. Initially a violinist, Kerry took up the French horn in the 1970s and became an accomplished player of that instrument. Her passion for the horn led her to be a mentor for many younger players whom she inspired with her skill and love of music. Kerry also served on the orchestra committee for many years as an efficient and dedicated librarian. The award is in recognition of Kerry’s lifetime of dedicated service to the Armidale Symphony Orchestra.

The Kerry Hawkins Award is made annually to a playing member of the orchestra who shows outstanding 
commitment and dedication throughout the year.


2012    Maurice Anker
2013    Colin Sholl
2014    Chris Cunningham
2015    Jacqui Thompson and Alana Blackburn
2016    Dave Brown
2017    Robert Jackson
2018    Laura Curotta
2019    Stuart Pavel

Stuart Pavel